putting on a show day 1

October 13, 2009

Carl and Sue going through former member's work

Carl and Sue going through former member's work

hardware!

hardware!

the space - Boulder Public Library Creekside Gallery

the space - Boulder Public Library Creekside Gallery

The Boulder Potter’s Guild, of which I’m a member, is celebrating 40 years with a big show at the Boulder Library.  Today was the first day of “hanging” the show which really meant checking in the artist’s work, deciding where to hang the photos and information about the guild, and figure out pedestals and what color we will paint the walls.  I say “we” loosely – Priscilla Cohan, Caroline Douglas, Carl Stewart, and Sue Gale Allman had been there all afternoon working their butts off when I finally dragged my butt in after class…

Caroline and Priscilla are exhausted but posed for meCaroline and Priscilla are exhausted but posed for me
IMG_2178

Work on the floor everwhere

a  beautiful piece by former Metro instructor Pamela Olson

a beautiful piece by former Metro instructor Pamela Olson

more work

more work

Mary Lynn Schumacher dropping off her work

Mary Lynn Schumacher dropping off her work

So tomorrow morning I’ll be dismantling one of my Skutt kilns and putting it back together at the Library.  Walls and pedestals get painted and we start to actually set up the show.  I’ll be bringing my wheel over on Thursday and some buckets of glaze, bags of clay, and other misc. clay stuff so that we can set up a pottery studio in the library.  Show opens friday and there’s tons to be done yet…  Reception Oct 23rd

My piece - Seeking Balance - will be on a wall somewhere...

My piece - Seeking Balance - will be on a wall somewhere...

Leave a Reply

